I’m a bit more proud than embarrassed to say that I’ve always held Pokemon close to my hear. My introduction to Pokemon was through the cartoon show, but I never found it really that appealing to watch. I just watched it because it was on T.V. and it was a cartoon. Probably because I was a dumb kid and would watch everything if it was on television. Collecting the cards was the next step of my Pokemon journey. I had no clue how to play it at all. The colorful art designs were just appealing to my immature eyes. I remember my piers in elementary school running around with Pokemon cards, even thought the school somewhat banned them. Oh, what good times. My cousin (I think he’s my cousin) later gave me his spare yellow version and that’s when I believe my love for Pokemon really grew. It was like being my very own Pokemon trainer. However, unlike the anime, I couldn’t just wing (I remember he named his Pidgey Wing) my way though it. I tried defeating Brock with Pikachu plenty of times, but it never went well. My past self was baffled. At least unlike the card game, I knew how to play the game. Kind of. Now it’s 2016 and I’m somewhat of an adult, and Pokemon Go has been released. And it’s like grade school all over again.

I’m pretty much a loser. I graduated more than a year ago with an English degree, but I’m just doing retail for now. I don’t know what I’m going to do anymore. I was planning to go back to school, but the thought of having to do that educate myself all over again was a feet I didn’t want to tackle again. For the most part, I’ve just been in a rut. I go to work, come home, eat, play video games, sleep, and repeat. That’s what I’ve been doing for the most part for the past year. In the process, I’ve really seemed to lost any sort of motivation I had in the past. I’ve just been going slowly with the flow.

I’m not gonna say it changed my life. Well, Pokemon itself did have an impact through my entire life, but it’s not like I’m going to become a successful, well to do person with loads of money and honeys with me due to Pokemon Go. I wish, though. No, but it has given me another aspect to look forward to everyday. Now I’m not going to be a Pokemon Go pro and travel everywhere and participate in all the events. I just don’t do so well with so many people, nor do I really have the time to do so. But I do like going outside, looking for what’s new and what I can catch. Even the social aspect, though I haven’t really been as social as making a load of new friends and finding new romance due to Pokemon, is a fresh take on a video game. I would occasionally just ask people if they found this Pokemon, or if they knew where it was. I doubt I’ll ever be hardcore enough to farm Magikarps by commuting to San Francisco. I’m fine with the generic rattatas. With every new video game I’ve tried in the past, I would just sit in my room and play it. But now with this app game, I’m practically forced to go outside in the fresh air in order to look for app Pokemon and look weird in doing so. I think that’s pretty neat.

So I just want to say. Thank you, Pokemon Go. Thank you for making my shitty life just a little less shittier.

