Misoya was probably one of my favorite Japanese restaurants I’ve ever been to. Funny too, because we ate at this ramen restaurant not even one week after from the last ramen place (the one with the fish balls). The ramen itself was delicious, yet not the best I’ve had. The interesting thing was that they had different kinds of broth from what I assumed were famously created in their respective Japanese location. What made the experience good was the calm atmosphere of the entire place, along with their food (not just the ramen) and their mascot is a turtle, holding a bowl of ramen. How much better could it even get?

img_0217-1img_0218-1img_0219-1img_0224-1

Now I love my sriracha. Anybody who has seen me eat almost anything will most likely see me drowning whatever food I have in said sauce. Add mayo in with sriracha and you either have a recipe for disaster, or perfection. I’ve bought sriracha mayo before, and by God, was it horrible. It was decent at first, but grew sour after a few days. The sriracha mayo  Misoya made, however, tasted fresh. Unfortunately, the concoction overpowered the juicy and savory dumplings. I barely tasted the gyoza and if I were to ever go again, I would just order them without the sauce. They also gave us soy sauce, which I thought was overkill with the sriracha mayo and opted to not using it.

The takoyaki was pure perfection. I’m not calling myself a takoyaki expert. I’ve only had it one prior at Quickly’s (a fast food boba place). But that one paled in comparison to the one I had at Misoya. The batter had more substance and was crunchy and crispy on the outside, yet gooey and soft in the inside. The two sauces of a soy sauce/worcestershire and mayonnaise blended perfectly together, the sweet and somewhat salty dark sauce mixing with the smooth creamy mayo. The pieces of octopus were large and after taking a bite of each takoyaki, steam would immediatley.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The ramen was unique and delectable in its own right, but didn’t seem to taste like other dishes I’ve had. Unless I’m being completely ignorant, I haven’t seen many ramen dishes containing fried potato wedges. I’m not saying it’s bad, don’t get me wrong. Just different. The potato wedges, much to my dismay, did not go with the dish. It was soggy and didn’t blend into the broth really well. Neither did the tempura shrimp I ordered as an extra, which was two dollars. Was it good? Yes. But two dollars good? No. The egg, though. The egg was heaven. Not too overcooked and not too undercooked. The perfect kind of egg for ramen. Each bite of noodles contained some ground pork and corn. The pork gave every bite a nice, earthy flavor, while the corn offered up some crunch and sweetness, countering the saltiness of everything else. However, the main star of the dish? The pork. There were three heaping slices of pork, and each slice was juicy, thick, and had a nice char on it. By far, it was the best char siu I’ve ever had with ramen. If possible, I would just order a huge slab of that pork and eat it with a fork. If anything, you must go here for the pork. And the takoyaki. And the dumplings without sriracha mayo. Okay, just go. Can I get a miso-yeah?

