This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A review where I actually take a picture of the food beforehand, while I’m eating, and at the end? Is this a new year miracle? Probably.

My friend has been trying to get me to try this “Vietnamese udon” for months and I finally had it. Banh canh (Baw-n Caw-n) was a first for me And I have to say, it was better than I thought.

The soup wasn’t even a soup, but more of a bisque. The broth was thick and flavorful with seafood, and I felt like I was swimming in the ocean. The noodles were thick, chunky, slippery white noodles floating around. And amongst that flavorful water, was a medley of pork and crab. And there was one lonely shrimp. Poor shrimp.

He also said that I had to try it with the Chinese doughnut, which was a welcomed addition to the noodle soup. The crunchy exterior and soft interior compliment  and absorbed the rich, seafood taste.

Sadly, this dish seems to be a specialty and won’t be seen much from generic Vietnamese restaurants. If you ever see it and you love seafood, I say give it a go. There were plenty of options like pork blood and intestines, but I went with the one filled with seafood and pork.

I hope you enjoy your taste of the sea!

